Image of a router with a login password lock and the Netgear logo

Netgear Login Instructions: Router Web Interface

The Netgear router web interface is the control panel for your router it's where all the settings are stored and changed. To make changes to your network you'll need to login to your Netgear router.

If you want to change any of the following:

  • Default network name
  • WiFi network name & password
  • Username and Password
  • DHCP client addresses
  • Firewall settings

You'll have to access the web interface to do so.

Accessing the Netgear web interface is pretty straightforward and all you'll need is:

  • Access to the network, Either through LAN-cable or through Wi-Fi
  • A web browser, which you have.

Following are the instructions to connect to your Netgear router's interface for configuration and diagnotstics.

Instructions how to login to the Netgear router web interface

  1. Make sure that you are connected to your Netgear router, either by ethernet cable of over WiFi.
    Note: If you're not connected to the network, you won't be able to reach the interface.
  2. Open your browser and type the router's ip address into the address field. The most common IP for Netgear routers is: 192.168.1.1
    If that IP address doesn't work, you can search the default Netgear IP address list for your specific model, and how to figure out your Netgear router gateway IP address.
  3. The Netgear web-interface should open and ask for your username & password. If you're not sure about the username/password you can look at the default Netgear credentials to see what the defaults are, and how to reset to them.

Once you have logged in to the Netgear admin interface you should be able to change any settings that are available.
Be careful when you configure your router so that you don't break the network.

One good tip is to write down your current settings before changing anything so that you can revert it incase of trouble.

What if my Netgear router or network stops working after the configuration change

In case you by mistake make some change that breaks your Netgear home network, you can always go back to zero by following the generic 30 30 30 hard reset trick.

This is usually the last resort, and if you still have access to the Netgear interface you can always login to try and revert the settings first (This of course assumes you wrote down the original value before changing it).